New images added

How much do we love Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie?

Not only is she already our favourite feminist spokesperson, now, she has embarked on a campaign to highlight the immense talent of Nigerian fashion designers by only wearing their brands for her public appearances.

She has previously spoken of her great admiration for the style of the Nigerian woman, even when money is in short supply. It’s great to see her embracing and shining a spotlight on these designers.

Speaking on her Facebook page, she said: “In the past few weeks, I’ve bought more Nigerian brands than I ever have in the past. I’ve discovered new names. I’ve been filled with admiration for the women and men running their businesses despite the many challenges they face. I’m particularly interested in ‘inward-looking’ brands, those for whom dressing Nigerian women is as important as other goals.

I’ve changed quite a few dodgy zippers, been disappointed by some poor-quality fabrics, and been impressed by some detail-oriented finishing. Overall, I love the clothes, their cut, their whimsy, their colour, their flair, their ability to make me feel like myself. Their makers, from designer to tailor to button-fixer to okada-delivery-person, deserve to be supported.”

Citing the “disastrous” economic situation for her desire to support local designers, we applaud her throwing her considerable influence behind the “Buy Nigerian” movement as we believe the pure talent and cutting-edge fashions truly contradict the deceptive tag of local designers.

Below are images of Chimamanda wearing some of our favourite designs.

Dress: Ladunni Lambo, Lagos (Dior Haute Couture Show,Paris) @ladunnilambo #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Ladunni Lambo @ladunnilambo

Dress: Iola, Lagos (Dior 70th Anniversary celebration, Paris) @official_iola #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: Iola @official_iola

Top and Skirt: Gozel Green (Lagos) @gozelgreen #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top and Skirt: Gozel Green @gozelgreen

Trousers and jacket: House of Caacun (Ellicott City Library Author Salon) @houseofcaacuun #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Trousers and jacket: House of Caacun @houseofcaacuun

Top: The Muse Factory, Lagos Shorts: Tailor Razak, Lagos (Press) @themusefactory_ #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Top: The Muse Factory @themusefactory_
Shorts: Tailor Razak

Dress: msbeefab, Lagos @msbeefab @Dior #MadeInNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Dress: msbeefab @msbeefab
Bag @Dior

Jumpsuit: Zohi Taglit, Abuja (Mary McCarthy Prize, Bard College) @zohi_taglit #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

Jumpsuit: Zohi Taglit @zohi_taglit

 

Shirt: Things Nigerians Love @tnldesigns

Skirt: Moofa @moofadesigns

 

Suit: Mae Otti @mae_otti

Suit: Mae Otti, Lagos (Dior event, Los Angeles) @mae_otti #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

 

Dress: She’s Deluxe @sheisdeluxe

Dress: She’s deluxe, Abuja (American Academy of Arts and Letters Induction ceremony, New York) @sheisdeluxe #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

 

Top: Vicky Heldan @vickyheldan

Skirt: Nuraniya @nuraniyastudios

Top: Vicky Heldan, Lagos Skirt: Nuraniya, Lagos (Citylit festival, Baltimore) @nuraniyastudios @vickyheldan #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

 

Top: Wanger Ayu @wangerayu

Trousers: Grey @greyprojects

Top: Wanger Ayu, Abuja Trousers: Grey, Lagos (Times Talks, New York) @greyprojects @wangerayu Makeup: @kingmalimagic #MadeinNigeria

A post shared by Chimamanda Adichie (@chimamanda_adichie) on

 

All images from Chimamanda Adichie Instagram

Save

Save

Total
3
Shares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*