Edward Enninful OBE has certainly achieved many firsts in his impressive career in the fashion industry and he has now made his directorial debut in a film for Gap,‘Bridging the Gap,’ described as a joyful celebration of American optimism.

Enninful, who directed, cast and styled the film, began his career as the Fashion Director for i-D Magazine at the young age of 18. More recently, he invoked much joy and celebration in the Black community when he was announced as the successor to Alexandra Shipman as the Editor in Chief of British Vogue.

 

The short film features a wonderful mixture of ethnicities and of celebrity icons, actors, musicians and models, including ALek Wek, Yara Shahidi, Wiz Khalifa, Adwoa Aboah and many more, all carefully selected by Enninful as individuals he’s worked with, championed and admired.

The iconic Gap basic white t-shirt serves as a blank canvas for each of the cast to take and make their own, offering a glimpse at how their differences unite them as they sing “Sunny” by Boney M, which conveys a message of optimism as a direct nod to the film’s concept.

Edward Enninful says: “I love the optimistic American style that Gap celebrates and the simplicity of the basic white t-shirt that allows you to be yourself.  Growing up, I loved the imagery I saw from America as it celebrated being the land of the free and home of the brave.  This project is about authenticity and people living their truths.”

“To me, ‘Bridging the Gap’ means making diversity more acceptable, by making it okay to look or act different. I do that by being myself.”   WIZ KHALIFA

“Bridging the Gap’ is exactly what the world needs right now, there are so many gaps in this world that need to be bridged and filled.  The most important one for me is empowering women, women need to be given an opportunity to stand on their feet and do the best they can for themselves.”  PRIYANKA CHOPRA

“It’s about knowing yourself which takes time but I do it by being myself 100% of the time.”  ADWOA ABOAH

“Whatever makes you happy makes you you.”  FERNANDA LY

“‘Bridging the Gap’ is about not just celebrating culturally, but also universally.”  ALEK WEK

“Optimism comes from all those around you. You can be a sponge, learn something, smile a lot, embrace who you are.  Smile more damnit.”  JASMINE SANDERS

Edward Enninful makes directorial debut in new Gap ad
Edward Enninful behind the scenes on the Bridging The Gap set with the full cast

Above left to right: model and Instagram star Jasmine Sanders @golden_barbie, model and designer Alek Wek @msalekwek, model Fernanda Ly @warukatta, theater, film and television actor Jonathan Groff @jonathangroffupdates, model Ellen Rosa @ellenghr, model Casill McArthur @dreads_of_a_mink, rapper Wiz Khalifa @wizkhalifa, Edward Enninful @edward_enninful, actress Priyanka Chopra @priyankachopra, model and activist Adwoa Aboah @adwoaaboah, model and actress Christie Brinkley @christiebrinkley, model Lineisy Montero @lineisymontero, actress and model Yara Shahidi @yarashahidi, model Maria Borges @iammariaborges, and champion fencer Miles Chamley-Watson @mchamleywatson

@gap @edward_enninful #BridgingTheGap

gap.com/bridgingthegap

 

Photos: Douglas Segars for Gap

Total
2
Shares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.