Looking for your next book binge? Enter our competition to win New York Times bestselling debut novel The Gilded Ones AND its follow-up The Merciless Ones by Namina Forna!

Unmistakably providing a dazzling addition to the YA fantasy world when it launched last year, stellar debut, The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna hit bestseller lists around the world. We reported on how within weeks the first in the book trilogy was picked up to become a film, with Namina Forna herself getting signed to write the script.

The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

The Afrofuturistic world that Namina Forna created is set in a West African-inspired Ancient Kingdom under oppressive patriarchal rule. We meet 16-year-old Deka who discovers her destiny as a near-immortal with magical powers when she makes the discovery that she bleeds gold.


10 must-read books to add to your (and your kids’) summer reading list


In the newly released second instalment of the epic fantasy, The Merciless Ones, it’s been six months since Deka freed the goddesses in the ancient kingdom of Otera and discovered who she really is … but war is waging across the kingdom, and the real battle has only just begun. For there is a dark force growing in Otera – a merciless power that Deka and her army must stop. Yet hidden secrets threaten to destroy everything Deka has known. With her own gifts changing, Deka must discover if she holds the key to saving Otera …or if she might be its greatest threat.

The Merciless Ones by Namina Forna

Namina’s series transcend the YA genre and will have anyone who reads the books transfixed with the themes and discussions around patriarchal systems and the ways in which these harm both women and men. The books offer a mature exploration of power and the ways in which this can be so easily twisted and corrupted, as well as the aftereffects of trauma, the process of healing and the bonds of sisterhood. All themes which are extremely topical right now.

Children of Blood and Bone: A review


Add to all of this, the witty humour, simmering romance and Namina’s extraordinary world-building in the books, readers will soon be hooked and vested in Deka’s journey and the world of The Gilded Ones.

Author of The Gilded Ones and The Merciless Ones: Namina Forna

Competition Details

Three lucky winners will receive a copy of the bestselling, award-winning The Gilded Ones novel as well as the latest book, The Merciless Ones.

How to win?

Simply enter our competition which opens on Friday 10 June 2022 by following us on Instagram and liking and commenting, on the #TheMercilessOnes post, “I want to win” AND if you are not already subscribed to our mailing list:  Click this link to sign up

Doing the following actions will make us like you even more (we will be checking): Sign up to receive our weekly newsletter using the link below.

Like our Facebook Page

Follow us on Twitter

Tag a friend (unlimited entries)

We will randomly select the winners of the competition on Friday 24 June 2022 (EXTENDED to Friday 15 June 2022 – Keep an eye on our socials, it could be you!

Terms and Conditions apply. Only open to UK residents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.